​Repeat After Me…

Every Mother’s Day, moms across the globe are celebrated for the sacrifice of their mind, body and sometimes soul as it relates to raising their children.  Some are showered with gifts that they may not necessarily want, while others are operating as if the day doesn’t exist.  


I’ve been a mom for 16 years, and I’ve had my share of Mother’s Day experiences.   I do love my family, and I appreciate the acknowledgement on the day.  I know I could very well be ignored on this day.  My birthday usually falls on Mother’s Day, so it’s a crap shot on how the festivities will go.  


I am usually specific about what I want, and still it is treated like a suggestion.  I’ve even printed out items that I want, complete with the store, sku number and aisle it’s in.  Still I got what THEY thought I wanted.  


Have you ever gone to a restaurant and ordered a steak and the waiter said “yea, I think you really want chicken? Here you go”.  That can be Mother’s Day for a lot of mom’s.


I know! I sound like a spoiled little girl.  I’m certain people are rolling their eyes at this post.  But that’s OK.  I’m not bothered.  My family knows I love them.  I appreciate everything they do for me.  But I don’t think I should feel guilty for wanting what I want on a day Hallmark says is about me. 


Anywhoooo, I decided to poll some mama’s!  I got over 300 responses! So clearly I am not the only one who wants to spread the word.  


Check out the infographic below and REPEAT AFTER ME…. “Mother’s Day is about the Mother! I will not try to outdo myself and by her shyt she didn’t ask for!”

I posted all the data from the study here:  MOMMY DATA


And here are some verbatim suggestions from mom’s:


Truly enjoy DIY crafts from my kids and breakfast in bed, but just being in their presence is a gift to me. A moment to myself is essential but CLEAN house matters most


To sleep in!


A hotel reservation for me and me only! I won’t be greedy. One night will do!


i want to spend a day window shopping without my todddler, after having gotten my nails painted by someone other than said toddler, then come home to a clean house and a takeout meal from a decent chain restaurant.


prefer just a low key day with my husband and son. a day when i can sleep in and everybody can move at MY pace…


A mini vacation or bed & breakfast (a few days away from the hustle)


Leave a Reply

